Skip to main content

T Levels

Career-focused courses with a significant industry placement giving you the opportunity to compete for the best university places, higher/degree apprenticeships, higher technical qualifications and highly skilled careers.

Find your T Level course


What are T Levels?

T Levels are a new 2-year qualification that lead to university, skilled employment and higher/degree apprenticeships. They’ve been designed with employers and businesses to provide the skills that industry needs, which means you get to play a key part in shaping the future of the UK economy!

If you’re academically strong but you have a skilled career route in mind, a T Level will give you a head start into your chosen industry.
Why have they been introduced?

T Levels are a big part of the government’s plan to transform education in the UK. They will create a new generation of highly skilled workers that the UK needs for its future economy to be successful. 

What's so good about them?

T Levels give you a head start towards your chosen career. With a 315 hour industry placement, you'll develop the skills, knowledge and behaviours that are highly sought after by employers putting you head and shoulders above the competition when you're looking to secure your first job.

  • 100% Pass Rate

    T Level Students in Education, Childcare, Science and Health all passed with flying colours.

  • Merit and Above

    60% of all T Level students achieved a Merit Grade or above - equivalent to 3 Bs or more at A Level.

  • Progression

    53% planning to go to university, 26% into apprenticeships, 21% into employment.

Student Case Study

Reece, who is currently studying our T-Level Digital Production, Design and Development course, tells B&FC why T levels appealed to him and what he hopes to do next in the world of computing.

He also reveals how he landed a fantastic work placement with Code Galaxy, owned and run by Nicky Speakman, one of B&FC's computing alumni.

Reece Harris: T Level Digital Production, Design & Development
Read the full story

Employer Case Study

Reece's employer, tells us why being involved with T Levels is great for business.

Nicky Speakman has come a long way since his own time as a student at Blackpool and The Fylde College, where he went from being a school leaver to gaining an honours degree and PGCE.

Nicky Speakman: Owner of Code Galaxy
Read the full story

  • 80/20 Learning

    80% classroom based, 20% on a relevant industry placement.

  • Employer Endorsed

    Designed with employers to provide the skills that industry needs.

  • 1 T Level=3 A Levels

    T Levels are a nationally-recognised qualification, equivalent to 3 A Levels.

Blackpool and The Fylde College students demonstrate T Level success
T Level Results Day 1
T Level Results Day 2
T Level Results Day 3
T Level Results Day 1 T Level Results Day 2 T Level Results Day 3

T Level Students Celebrate Amazing Results

T Level Results Day 1
T Level Results Day 2
T Level Results Day 3

Entry Requirements

You will need 5 GCSEs at grade 4 or above, including English and maths (for primary teaching you will also need Science). 

If you didn't quite get the grades with your GCSE English or maths results, you can study to resit these qualifications alongside the course of your choice so that you don’t have to waste time repeating a year.

What's covered? 

T Levels are studied five days a week and made up of core skills, subject knowledge, English and maths and an industry placement.

You’ll spend 80% of your time in the classroom and the remaining 20% on a relevant industry placement, getting real on-the-job experience.

Getting into University

University entry requirements are based on the UCAS Tariff. The tariff allocates points to each qualification grade so everyone can easily work out what they need for a particular university. The table below shows how T Levels equate to A Levels.

Ucas Tariff PointsT Level Overall GradeA Level Grades 
168Distinction*A* A* A*
144DistinctionA A A 
120MeritB B B 
96Pass (C or above on the core) C C C
72Pass (D or E on the core)D D D


The table above is based on achieving the same grade for each A Level. However, UCAS tariff totals can be achieved through different A Level grade combinations based on the following A Level grade points: A*=56; A=48; B=40; C=32; D=24; E=16. 

Where could a T Level take me?

T Levels lead to a nationally-recognised qualification with an overall grade of Pass, Merit or Distinction. They equip young people to progress to university, highly skilled employment or a higher/degree apprenticeship.

"I chose this course because I want to be a game developer and I definitely think it will give me the skills I need. With A Levels, you’re learning completely different subjects whereas with a T Level all the subjects relate to each other. We do quite a bit of practical work like programming and building machines and at the end of the course we’ll be doing our industry placement. The facilities are amazing - they’ve offered us lots of free resources and if you need any equipment out of College they can support you with that too. It’s really good."
Molly Grennell Walker: Digital Production, Design and Development, T Level

What's next?

Explore our wide range of T Levels using our Course Search.
Check out our Prospectus page where you can download or view our dedicated T Level prospectus online.
Book a place at our next Open Event - a great opportunity to meet the tutors, ask questions and check out our facilities.
Contact our Course Enquiries Team if you have any questions or concerns:
Call: 01253 504343